Friday, February 01, 2013

Chamber honors businesses at annual dinner

The Smith Mountain Lake Regional Chamber of Commerce honored businesses and individuals at its Annual Awards Dinner on Jan. 24 at The Waterfront Country Club.

Awards winners were: Norman Jean Teass Award for Leadership: Teresa Tyree of SML Animal Control;

Business of the Year: Print-n-Paper;

Service Excellence Award: The Landing Restaurant;

Enduring Enterprise Award: Capps Home Building Center;

Emerging Entrepreneur Award: Lake Beverage & Tobacco;

Regional Advocate Award: The Willard Companies/Prudential Waterfront Properties.

During the meeting, the board of directors was introduced and outgoing board members and ambassadors recognized.

Members of the Executive Committee are:

Mickey Johnson, chairman; Roy Enslow, chairman-elect; Terri Stanley, vice-chairman; Pat Cundiff, secretary; Cheryl Ward, treasurer; and Steve Chiminello, ex-officio.

Board members are:

Bill Harlor, Lindsey Coley, Chris Finley, Lisa Hammock, Jon M. Dabareiner, Gary Garst, Barbara Brooks, Mike Greer, Ted Puzio, Holly Sweet, Walter Hogle, Traci Blido, Christopher L. Whitlow, the Rev. Troy Keaton, Karen Smith, Dany Turner and Helen Wilcox.

A new logo marking the 50th anniversary of Smith Mountain Lake, designed by Next Generations Design, was unveiled during the meeting, the theme of which was Blur the Lines-One Community.

Vicki Gardner, executive director of the chamber, announced that production of the SML license plate has been approved.